Connect with us


INEC De-registers 74 Political Parties

Olaitan Nurudeen




INEC De-registers 74 Political Parties

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has de-registered 74 political parties.

It also announced September 19 as the date for the governorship election in Edo state, and October 10 for that of Ondo state both in 2020.

Mahmood Yakubu, INEC chairman, announced this in a press conference in Abuja on Thursday.

He said the commission took this action because of their failure to meet various criteria stipulated by the constitution during the elections.

The INEC chairman said the number of Nigeria’s political parties now stand at 16 with 2 on standby to make it 18.

The political parties that meet all INEC criteria and by so doing still being recognized by the commission are:

Accord, Action Alliance, African Action Congress, African Democratic Congress, All Progressives Congress, All Progressives Grand Alliance, Allied Peoples Movement, Labour Party, New Nigeria People’s Party, National Rescue Movement, Peoples Democratic Party, Social Democratic Party, Young Progressive Party, and Zenith Labour Party. Others are Boot Party which is on standby due to court order and Action People’s Party that may be added or removed in future.


Copyright Nigeria News Live 2018-2020 Chat with Us on Whatsapp on 08059984535 Send us enquiries, press releases.Advertise with us.

Nurudeen Olaitan is a Linguist, Teacher, and Adventurer. He is Passionate about Sport, Travelling, Writing, & Politics. He puts Humanity above anyone or anything & hold Honesty and Integrity in high esteem.Reach him via or @nurdeanO on Twitter


Top Trending News