Connect with us


Nigeria daily times compiled the list of politicians that has defected so far

Nigeria News Live



saraki decamps to pdp


As the 2019 general elections approach, Nigeria’s political landscape has started witnessing massive shake-ups.

Ahead of the elections, politicians are crossing from one political party to another looking for political parties which suit their interests. President Buhari referred to defection as a seasonal occurrence that happens on election eve.


While all Nigerian major parties have been both the victims (and beneficiaries) of the gale of defections, it appears the ruling All Progressives Congress (All Progressive Congress) is the worst hit, at least as of the time of filing this report.

In this article, list the important politicians who have defected from the ruling party to the Peoples Democratic Party (People\'s Democratic Party) and other parties.


  1. Saraki Senate president Bukola Saraki is the latest political heavyweight to leave the All Progressive Congress. He announced his defection to the People\'s Democratic Party on Tuesday, July 31.


2.Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed of Kwara state Regarded as Saraki’s godson


  1. Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue state After series of unconfirmed announcements and denials
  1. Governor Aminu Waziri Tambuwal announced his defection to PDP on 1st of August, 2018.
  1. Dino Melaye (Kogi West)


  1. Barnabas Gemade (Benue Northeast)


  1. Ibrahim Danbaba (Sokoto South)


  1. Shaaba Lafiaji (Kwara North)


  1. Mohammed Shitu (Jigawa Northeast)


  1. Rafiu Ibrahim (Kwara South)


  1. Suleiman Hunkuyi (Kaduna North)


  1. Isa Misau (Bauchi Central)


  1. Monsurat Sunmonu (Oyo Central)


  1. Usman Nafada (Gombe North)


  1. Musa Kwankwaso (Kano-Central)


  1. Suleiman Nazif (Bauchi North)


  1. Abdul-Aziz Murtala Nyako (Adamawa Central) House of Reps members who defected


  1. Orker Jev (Benue)


  1. Sunday Adepoju (Oyo)


19.Olugbemi Samson (Oyo)


20.Taiwo Michael (Oyo)


21.Olasupo Abiodun (Oyo)


  1. Garba Umar (Kano)


  1. Olayonu Tope (Kwara)


  1. Ahmed Garba (Kano)


  1. Kabiru Marafa (Sokoto)


  1. Zakari Mohammed (Kwara)


  1. Abubakar Amuda-Kanike (Kwara)


  1. Ali Madaki (Kano)


  1. Hassan Saleh (Benue)


  1. Ahman Pategi (Kwara)


  1. Mark Gbillah (Benue),


  1. Shehu Usman (Kano)


  1. Aminu Shagari (Sokoto)


  1. Nuhu Danburam (Kano)


  1. Atunwa Abdulrazak (Kwara)


  1. Salisu Zakari (Bauchi)


  1. Hassan Omale (Kogi)


  1. Rufai Chanchangi (Kaduna)


  1. Abdulsamad Dasuki (Sokoto)


  1. Sani Zoro (Jigawa)


  1. Benjamin Okolo (Kogi)


  1. Funke Adedoyi (Kwara),


  1. Bode Ayorinde (Ondo)


  1. Bashiru Salihu (Sokoto)


  1. Barry Mpigi (Rivers)


  1. Nasiru Sule (Kano)


  1. Segun Ogunwuyi (Oyo)


  1. Lawal Rabiu (Kaduna)


  1. Sani Rano (Kano)


  1. Dickson Tarkighir (Benue)


  1. Musa Adotsamiya (Kano)


  1. Emmanuel Udende (Benue)


Meanwhile, the National Working Committee of the APC) has reportedly queried the Senate president, Bukola Saraki, for allegedly producing a conducive environment for its members to defect recently.

The party’s NWC asked Saraki to respond within 48 hours to its query as to why disciplinary action should not to be taken against him for breaching article 21 of the constitution of the party.

source:- naija news

Copyright Nigeria News Live 2018-2020 Chat with Us on Whatsapp on 08059984535 Send us enquiries, press releases.Advertise with us.


Top Trending News